Getting My Blog Back

It was time. There was a point when work had to be separated from life, and I reached it. Driving somewhere between Beaumont and Bermuda Dunes last Friday, I felt I needed a forum for myself. I thought, ‘I’m in my thirties. I have opinions. I need to get my blog back.’

You see, my blog had been taken over and was under the firm grasp of Inland Area high school sports. While that was great, somewhere within the previews and the rankings I’d lost (or forgotten) about my ability to tell stories. To reach beyond the one-night performances and dig deeper into how it all relates to my life.

That notion, combined with the brewing consideration that Fieldhouse Of My Brain, as a brand, could no longer grow without acquiring its own domain, led me to the choice I finally made today… two blogs, two domains.

For readers looking for FOMB’s unique take on Inland Area high school sports, go to the new FieldhouseOfMyBrain.com. It’ll be up and running again on Wednesday, Dec. 1, 2010.

Sooo……

This blog is hereby my personal sounding board. Henceforth. I command it.

I’ll now be posting on topics relating to raising my two young sons, my experiences as a freelance sports journalist, and my burgeoning career as a soccer referee. All three of which cause me a great deal of both pride and grief.

My boys are the sweetest things ever. They’re healthy and smart and their athletic careers are important to me. But not as important as being able to read, write and poop into a porcelain bowl. I mean, let’s be real here.

Speaking of toilets, I’ve been committed to a career in sports journalism for 10 years and it’s been a swirling dervish of fecal matter. Needless to say, my career hasn’t exactly gone as planned. What was the plan? I’m currently re-conditioning my memory. I’ll get back to you.

The reconditioning involves a stringent diet of soccer. As a coach and a referee on the youth level, I’m learning and teaching every time I stand on a soccer pitch. That’s a lot of pressure. I’ll blow off some of that steam here.

Ahhh. Finally. There’s more room to breath, more room to stretch.

It’s time to write about more than sports. After all, I’m now in my 30s, and I have opinions. And look at that… I got my blog back.

2 Comments

Filed under Dad, Journalist, Referee

2 responses to “Getting My Blog Back

  1. The Business

    Congratulations, when do we get to smoke a cigar?

  2. Mario F

    Sweet! i love to early all this fatherly insight from one of my peers. Whats your take on the recent goings on at the baseball winter meetings?

Leave a Reply

