Boys And Girls, Hide-And-Seek

We were playing at the park on Friday when a little girl, whom I know as Jocelyn, begins calling out for my oldest son and chasing him around the play equipment.

Jocelyn has made her affinity for him very visible in just the five-plus months the two have been together in kindergarten. She often won’t let him escape into my custody before grappling him for a hug.

It’s really too cute for words, though I have caught myself more than once gently telling her, “OK. That’s enough, Jocelyn. We have to go now.”

And today at the park was the ultimate hide-and-seek game, with Jocelyn searching for him because he has run away and hid from her affections.

Today, she came up to me and said: “I’m his best friend, and his girlfriend.”

It was just about the cutest damn thing I’ve ever heard.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dad

Leave a Reply

