Refereeing An Endurance Sport?

I went to referee some soccer matches on Saturday and ended up running a 10k.

Assigned to work the afternoon set of games at a prestigious Orange County (Ca.) club soccer tournament, I expected to work two, maybe three games. (I had never done more than three in one day.)

How many did I work? It was more than I ever have before and actually equaled my total for two consecutive days. How many, you ask?

Five. F-I-V-E.

Back-to-back-to-back-to-back-to-back. Each within 10 minutes of the last, and each with the muscles in both my calves exceedingly ready to explode and leave me in a sorry lump of humanity.

It was unlike anything I’ve ever been a part of, and I’m not sure I’m ready for a repeat performance anytime in the next two weeks. Seriously. I don’t think I’m able.

I like refereeing. I really do. And if I have to be a long-distance runner/Iron Man participant to do it then so be it.

Who knows the phone number for P90X?

Leave a comment

Filed under Referee, Soccer

Leave a Reply

