About To Have This Baby

So when your wife tects you and says they (the nurse practitioners) think her water may have broken, you kinda get a chill down your spine.

But this is child No. 3 for me now, so it’s sort of old hat.

Anyway, I’ve packed her a bag, got the infant car seat ready to go, and pulled out the basonet that we purchased but had yet to assemble. All in about 15 seconds.

And then the phone rings. It’s her Dad. He wants to have dinner. What should I say? Anything? I mutter something about her having an appointment today, or something. I feel like I’m speaking jibberish.

Hang up the phone. Stand around in a daze. What else should I be doing?

We’re having a friggin’ baby!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dad

Leave a Reply

